Charles Manson Follower Bruce Davis Awarded Parole?

Charles Manson Follower Bruce Davis Awarded Parole?

Charles Manson Follower Bruce Davis Awarded Parole?

Prison authorities have recommended parole for a lesser known follower of infamous mass murderer Charles Manson more than forty years in prison for killing two people who were tortured and mutilated prior to their death.

Already recommended for parole once in 2010, Bruce Davis, 70, was denied by the (former) California governor Arnold Schwarzenegger, who stated that Davis posed a serious danger to society.

Now Davis has won a new release recommendation at his 27th parole board meeting since his conviction over the 1969 deaths of musician Gary Hinman, who was stabbed, and stuntman Donald “Shorty” Shea.

The killings for which Davis was convicted and sentenced were “especially heinous because both victims were abused, tortured and mutilated”, as written by Mr. Schwarzenegger in his 2010 decision.

Sandi Gibbons, spokeswoman for the Los Angeles County District Attorney’s Office said, “Indeed, some murders are so atrocious that the gravity of the murder, by itself, evidences current dangerousness. I believe this is such a case.”

Charles Manson himself was refused parole in April, in what may likely be the 77-year-old’s last review for release after more than 40 years behind bars since he will not be eligible for parole again for another 15 years.

In hopes of sparking a race war, Manson headed an apocalyptic cult and schemed a notorious plan to commit murders in upscale, mostly white neighborhoods of Los Angeles and then blame the crimes on African Americans.

Manson was eventually sentenced to death but later commuted with four of his followers for having led the killing of seven people, including Sharon Tate, the pregnant wife of renowned filmmaker Roman Polanski.

Short URL:

Posted by on Oct 6 2012. Filed under Featured News. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply

Copyright © 2010 All rights reserved.